New line-up for SA Recreational Fishing Advisory Council

Image: Primary Industries and Regions SA

SIX new members and an independent chair have been appointed to the South Australian Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Recreational Fishing Advisory Council (MRFAC).

Sharon Starick will be the independent chair, while Alicia Bolitho, Andrew Smith, Lee Van Soest, Bryan Stokes, Mick Wilson and professional fishing rod builder Rob Wilson join the council.

The new advisory council members join existing members David Scholefield, Amanda Whitehorn and Peter Teakle.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham said the government wants to expand the opportunities for South Australians to get outdoors and enjoy catching a fish.

“We went to the last election promising better representation to the government from the recreational fishing sector,” said Minister Basham.

“The Minister’s Recreational Fishing Advisory Council provides the opportunity for those right across the sector to help deliver better recreational fishing opportunities across the state.

“The focus of the MRFAC will be to develop a Recreational Fishing Strategy for South Australia to be released prior to MRFAC elections next year.

Minister Basham said an important change will be the appointment of an independent chair, Sharon Starick who will advise on corporate governance, chair meetings and manage interactions between the MRFAC and the Department of Primary Industries and Regions.

“Ms Starick is well qualified to take on the role as independent chair with her wealth of experience serving on national and local boards including Animal Health Australia, Grains Research and Development Corporation, Rural Business Support, RAA, and previously SA Murray Darling Basin NRM and the Australian Landcare Council.”

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.