New NT Rec Fishing Advisory Council announced

Rocky Edwards, pictured here with a nice barra, has been appointed to the new NT Recreational Fishing Advisory Council. Image: David Green

THE Minister for Primary Industry and Fisheries Gary Higgins has finalised the make-up of a new NT Recreational Fishing Advisory Committee.

The Committee provides advice to the Minister on key matters of importance to recreational fishing.

One of its primary roles is the delivery of objectives in the Northern Territory Government’s Recreational Fishing Development Plan 2012 -2022. The plan identifies the key strategic issues facing recreational fishing over the next decade and contains a broad range of strategies and actions to ensure we maintain and enhance the quality of our fisheries and recreational fishing opportunities.

The members of the new committee are:

  • Warren de With – AFANT
  • Mark Spain – Clayton Utz
  • Dick Perry – Perry’s on the Daly
  • Ronal Voukolos – Fishing and Outdoor World
  • Kristen Noble – Palmerston Game Fishing Club
  • Alex Julius – Arnhemland Barra Fishing Lodge
  • Stephen Thomas – AFANT
  • Dennis Sten – NT Guided Fishing Association
  • Roxsean Edwards – AFANT

“I am committed to hearing the voices of recreational fishers, and I want them to have a meaningful role in policy discussions. I understand the passion, and energy of our many recreational fishermen and women,” Higgins said.

“Growing the reputation of the NT as a world class spot for rec fishing is one of the keys to unlocking future growth and delivering a $2.2b visitor economy by 2020,” he said.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.