Recreational fishers honoured in NT awards

REC anglers from around the Territory have gathered in Parliament house for the inaugural Northern Territory Recreational Fishing Awards 2015.

Minister for Primary Industry and Fisheries Willem Westra van Holthe said the gala event is a celebration to recognise individuals and organisations for their contribution to recreational fishing.

“Fishing is an integral part of our fantastic Territory lifestyle- with around 32,000 anglers taking to our waterways every year,” Minister Westra van Holthe said.

“Tonight we are honouring recreational fishers and the contribution they make to the Territory.

“I’d like to congratulate each and every winner, along with everyone who was nominated for the inaugural Northern Territory Recreational Fishing Awards 2015.”

The list of winners, as decided by the Recreational Fishing Advisory Committee, includes:

1. Individual Award – Terrence “Bomber” Farrell
2. Youth Award- Jordan Smart
3. Fishing Tourism Operation Award- Cobourg Fishing Safaris 
4. Fishing Media Award- ABC Tales From The Tinny
5. Fishing Competition Award- Barra Classic, Darwin Game Fishing Club
6. Top Fishing Researcher Award- Warren de With 
7. Fishing Art Award- Marie Oliveira 
8. The Overall Award- The Mike Reed Award: ABC Tales from the Tinny

The Northern Territory Government has worked closely with the Amateur Fishermen’s Association of the Northern Territory (AFANT) on this key Country Liberals Government election commitment.

AFANT’s Tristan Sloan said he anticipated the Northern Territory Recreational Fishing Awards would only get bigger with each year.

“Each award category was hotly contested, with nominations coming in from right around the Territory,” Mr Sloan said.

“The inaugural event has been a huge success and I am confident it will continue to grow in reputation and size over coming years.”

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.